Cover photo: Seekers and Finders by Hugh and Joyce Mellor

Historical Background

Quakers have been meeting in High Wycombe since 1654 but the first evidence of a Meeting House is in 1687 when an old barn was leased to them for that purpose

Quakers have been meeting in their present Meeting House since 1931 and their history in the High Wycombe area has been researched and traced through their 350 years in a fascinating and beautifully written book entitled 'Seekers and Finders' by Hugh and Joyce Mellor. Although written firstly with Quaker readers in mind the authors have aimed also to provide sufficient information about Quakerism itself to make the book intelligible and interesting to those who come fresh to the subject.